Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Natural Resources University


Natural Resources University is a podcast network focused on delivering science-based natural resource management.

Funding for this project comes from the Renewable Resources Extension Act.

 

Deer University https://deeruniversity.libsyn.com/

Fire University https://fireuniversity.libsyn.com/

Pond University https://ponduniversity.libsyn.com/

Habitat University https://habitatuniversity.libsyn.com/

Dec 7, 2021

Not sure what to get the habitat manager on your list this holiday season? Have no fear! In this episode, Adam and Jarred chat about what’s on their holiday habitat wishlist. Take a listen and you are sure to find the perfect gift idea. You will also get a sneak peek about what’s coming up on Habitat University in 2022.

You can find Adam and Jarred’s wishlist below along with some helpful links.

Adam’s WIshlist

  1. Native Plants - https://www.nwf.org/Garden-for-Wildlife/about/native-plants
  2. Field Guide (Adam’s Favorite) - https://www.littlebrown.com/titles/lawrence-newcomb/newcombs-wildflower-guide/9780316604420/
  3. Woodworking for wildlife - https://naturalresources.extension.iastate.edu/wildlife/woodworking-wildlife
  4. Cellular Trail Camera - https://www.trailcampro.com/collections/cellular-trail-cameras
  5. Good Books (Adam’s recommendation) - https://milkweed.org/book/braiding-sweetgrass

 

Jarred’s Wishlist

  1. Drone or UAV - https://extension.purdue.edu/uav/natural-resources/
  2. Invasive control tools (Backpack sprayer or pulling tool) - https://www.entm.purdue.edu/iisc/pdf/ABH_Tool_Info.pdf
  3. Gift certificate or registering for an in-person or online wildlife/habitat management course - https://www.deerassociation.com/steward/
  4. Chainsaw or Prescribed Fire PPE - https://secure.caes.uga.edu/extension/publications/files/pdf/C%201148_1.PDF https://research.cnr.ncsu.edu/blogs/southeast-fire-update/2019/09/09/ppe-for-landowners-practical-clothing-options/
  5. Drip torch - https://www.forestry-suppliers.com/product_pages/products.php?mi=15801&itemnum=85022

 

Disclaimer

Reference to any specific commercial product, process, or service, or the use of any trade, firm, or corporation name is for general informational purposes only and does not constitute an endorsement, recommendation, or certification of any kind by Purdue Extension. Persons using such products assume responsibility for their use in accordance with current directions of the manufacturer.